Pioneer Valley Jewish Film Festival

The Pioneer Valley Jewish Film Festival, presented by the Springfield Jewish Community Center and now in its 13th year, proudly continues its tradition of showcasing more than two weeks of award-winning films from around the world!

Our 2018 Festival runs March 15-27, 2018, with a diverse line-up of entertaining, engaging, and thought-provoking films that showcase a multifaceted exploration of Jewish identity, community, history, and politics.

Films are screened across Western Massachusetts – this year in Amherst, Chicopee, Greenfield, Longmeadow, Northampton, Shelburne Falls, South Hadley, Springfield, Westfield, and West Springfield – in venues ranging from Rave Cinemas to UMass to the Greenfield Garden Cinemas, with many stops in between. Visiting filmmakers, panel discussions and other special events provide unique opportunities for community dialogue both within and outside of the Jewish community.

Year after year, PVJFF presents critically acclaimed films that not only entertain, but also provide opportunities for reflection, discussion, and a deeper understanding of our complex, diverse world. Our film screenings and accompanying programs aim to illuminate universal themes such as identity and belonging, interfaith relations, women’s roles in religion and society, conflict and reconciliation in the Middle East, social justice, and civic engagement.

We hope you’ll join us and be inspired and enlightened. See you at the movies!


Deb Krivoy, Festival Director
Maggie Granquist, JCC Cultural Arts
Fran Eisenberg, JCC Administration
Debbie Whitehead, JCC Marketing


Howard Polonsky
Dee DeGeiso
Michael Paysnick

Advisory Council 

Matthew Bertuzzi
Lawrence Fine
Lawrence Hott
Howard Polonsky
Jody Rosenbloom
Rabbi Mark Shapiro
Kim Starkman
Carlin Trietsch
Daniel Yalowitz

Festival Volunteers

David Axelrad
Andrea & David Brinnel
Fred Brownstein
Claire Day
Sherry Dickerman
Elaine Geha
Jake Greenberg
Madlynn Haber
Arthur Haselkorn
Anne Knauf
Lisa Landon
Kelly Larkin
Judy Mazel
Rachel & Ralph Melnick
Alison Morse
Tina Moskal
Katie Olmstead
William Plotnick
Margie Sobil
Abbie Weiss
Betty Wolfson
Daniel Yalowitz


Print Email